Llámenos para consultas gratis
Call Us for Free Consultations

The Social Security Administration uses seven main diagnoses for spinal disorders.

The diagnoses are:

  • herniated nucleus
  • pulposus spinal Arachnoiditis
  • spinal stenosis, osteoarthritis
  • degenerative disk disease
  • facet arthritis
  • vertebral fracture

In addition to requiring the applicant with back trouble to have at least one of the diagnoses above, the listing requires that the condition must also “result in the compromise of a nerve root or the spinal cord.”

To determine Spinal Disorder disability, SSA enlists vocational rules which vary according to age, education, work experience and physical/mental disorder to determine what other work, if any, the person can perform.

If SSA finds that a person can do his past work, benefits are denied. If the person cannot, then the process proceeds to the fifth and final step.

Each of the seven diagnoses has its own specific qualifications and guidelines. Legal representation can most often ensure your Social Security benefits claim will be approved.

A professional will help you at all levels of the administrative process to:

  • Assist you with your initial SSI & SSDI application, with filing your request with the Social Security Administration for reconsideration, requesting a hearing before an administrative law judge or filing an appeal with the Appeals Council
  • Analyze your case under federal Social Security Disability regulations. Obtain a copy of your file from the Office of Hearings & Appeals to ensure that it reflects all your past medical treatment and that all records and documents contained therein are admissible as evidence
  • Ask that any prior SSI & SSDI applications for benefits be reopened
  • Protect your right to a fair hearing
  • Make any necessary Social Security appeals

We are not retained until the contract is countersigned.

Please contact our SSDI lawyers today to schedule your consultation. Jacoby & Meyers has offices throughout the U.S.